Progress? Questionable – but Hopeful

38 weeks (well, almost).  Dilation = 1 cm.  Effacement = 50%

If you’re keeping track, that’s one more centimeter and 50% more effacement than last Friday, for whatever that’s worth.

And because this baby’s Mama is a worrywart and because this baby is a lazy bones who rarely moves period (except during his witching hours between 10 and midnight), we were humored with an Non-Stress Test and an ultrasound at today’s appointment too.

The big boy moved all of two times in the 40 minute or so period of the NST (and you wonder why I worry?).  But his heartbeat remained strong throughout.  The more interesting developments are the (somewhat) regular contractions recorded throughout the test (lasting somewhere around a minute each and coming anytime between 2 and a half minutes and 5 minutes apart or so). So that’s what I’ve been feeling since last night.

We also know his amniotic fluid levels are good, the umbilical cord blood flow is strong, he does move (however much he can, cramped as he may be), and his vital organs (kidneys, heart, etc.) look healthy. That’s my boy.

But lest you get as excited about the progress and contractions mentioned, as I want to be, be aware the Internetz is a’buzz with tales of women in similar contraction patterns for days if not weeks before ever really going into active labor.  And here I was getting all excited, contracting as I type this post.  Unless they remain this way and get stronger too, not much of anything will occur.

If labor is not imminent, at least I’ve got my guy’s last ultrasound photo to keep me going in the meantime.  I’ll tell you now that it shows his chubby little face up close and head on, in case you’re just as bad as I am at seeing anything on an ultrasound (though who could blame us on this one?  The child’s head is deep in the pelvis at this point, no longer “floating.”  How much could we see down there, now that my boy is a 2 pounder no more?).  So what’s not in shadows is an eye, a nose and some squishy lips made pouty by the little hand pulling away:

Can’t wait to see that face in person real soon!

4 thoughts on “Progress? Questionable – but Hopeful

  1. LOL! This is why, for four pregnancies, I never once let them do these internal exams… I figured I didn’t want to know – no progress may frustrate me, some progress may excite me, and neither are a sign of when the baby was coming…😀 There was no way I wanted to know either way!

    Congratulations and good luck!

  2. So now the excitement REALLY begins: you’ll be meeting your little man — your little love — so soon! Keep us posted if you CAN, and please don’t hesitate to contact me if you need ANYTHING. Keith and I will be thinking of you!

  3. Hang in there, and good luck! And I can’t believe what a great ultrasound photo you have — we never had much more than a blur…. What fun to have an advance peek at his sweet little face!

Leave a Reply

