The Written Word

image via a trying youths Flickr photostream

image via "a trying youth"'s Flickr photostream

One nice thing that has happened since Wes was born, both out of desire (not wanting television to be the background of our lives, especially Wes’)  and necessity (who has the time?), is that there’s a lot less television watching going on in our home.  I should say that I specifically am watching much less television. Craig has ever only shown interest in one or two shows, maybe, or in the Sci-Fi channel as filler.  I am probably still guilty of watching more than I should, but there’s no denying my DVR is hardly full these days.

Actually, I’m finding that the best way to quietly spend an hour or two whilst I sit on the sofa with Wes deliciously snuggled asleep in my arms is to read.  Of course as you can imagine, almost everything I read these days has something to do with babies.

The second nice thing that happened was that I re-discovered my local public library, conveniently located close-by and recently remodeled.  And their collection of books on babies is not too shabby. Thanks to their copies of Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child (lots of good material but a hot mess in need of an editor: its basic message is put your child to sleep earlier than you think), Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems (people seem to mainly reference Ferber’s progressive-waiting sleep training approach, but this only comprises about 6 pages of the book.  All the other content is much more useful, I think), The No-Cry Nap Solution (replete with scenarios and their corresponding actual plans of action), and Secrets of the Baby Whisperer (begin as you intend to go; eat, play, sleep) plus The Happiest Baby on the Block DVD (swaddle, side position, shush, swing, suck),  I think I have basically covered all the bases re: babies and sleep, for future reference.

I also got to finish The Hurried Child (why do we force so much upon young children, things like organized sports and academic desires such as early reading, before they are truly emotionally prepared for those things?) and now hope to move on to Einstein Never Used Flash Cards: How Our Children Learn — and Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less (if it’s worth it, I’ll tell you all about it).  Can you at all tell that I teach for a living or that I needlessly worry about things light years in advance?😉

Thankfully, not everything I picked up was so didactic.  A most recent fun read was Anne Lamott’s Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year.  A bit too much about race and religion at times for my taste, but delightfully honest and hysterical otherwise.  How nice it is I think, as often happens with good books, to see our very lives reflected in what we read.  I’m guessing my new mama friends would get a kick out of it, too!

One thought on “The Written Word

  1. Ooh, I absolutely couldn’t live without our public library! And am sure we’ll appreciate it that much more once the little ones are old enough to go through a constant stream of children’s books…. But sadly haven’t gotten turned quite so literary in the wake of our girl’s birth. I definitely have been watching more TV — in part because the girl eats constantly, and TV is the only thing I can do without any free hands!

Leave a Reply

