Halloween Photo Shoot

Thank you all for your comments on my Halloween post. I’m not sure how many people ever go back into the comments section, so I thought I would respond to your kind words here. I can’t thank you enough for your compliments on my photography. I can’t believe it myself that I’m the one who snapped those pictures. But to be 100% truthful, they still required a lot of post-processing. I can’t wait for the day when I finally figure out the proper exposure at the time I snap the pictures rather than afterward, but I’m so incredibly slow at getting the settings right — quite the obstacle when working with an active baby, as you can imagine — and I still have a heck of a time wrapping my head around shutter speed. Numbers were never my friend. But I’ve loved photography for as long as I can remember, and in hindsight perhaps I should have studied that art instead of burying my nose in books of poetry.

It didn’t hurt that Wes was kind enough to humor his mama in the endeavor, only pulling at his froggy eyes and crown a time or two. And I couldn’t have done it without Craig, who was the consummate wrangler and took to the task with the aid of one furry blue turtle and a silly pink flamingo.

That’s Wes right there looking up at his daddy standing above me!

And I’m sorry, but how cute was that costume? A bit on the big side, but I think perfect nonetheless. And my favorite part was that it came with its own lily pad! And the lily pad squeaks! I only regret not having seen this other costume for sale, too. What a pair Wes and Niles would have made!

I can’t wait to try this all over again, maybe for some winter holiday photos? I’m happy with the roll of white paper purchased at a local educational supplies store (for decorating bulletin boards) though I may have to come up with another creative way of draping it seeing as how I don’t have a proper stand (nor the room for it). For these photos, I placed the roll inside Wesley’s crib and pulled the paper out and over, but the problem with that is that I’m then left with very little room where I can shoot: that’s quite the small space between the crib and the dresser that sits immediately across from it. But that room has the best light in the house…perhaps if I learn how to properly use my new Speedlite though, other spots in the house will open up!

One thought on “Halloween Photo Shoot

Leave a Reply

