First Day

Today is the first day of Craig’s teaching internship — and the first day of a whole new schedule for us, in some ways, a more consistent one. In the past, Craig’s daily schedule fluctuated. Some days he’d be at school in the mornings, others in the afternoon, and in between he worked his part-time job. Now, all winter/spring, he’ll be gone Monday through Friday all day until late in the afternoon, coming back just as I must dart out the door for my job. I’ll be honest: I’m a bit scared of these hectic days ahead of us, but it is what it is, no? Best to keep our chins up.

With much luck, Craig will be teaching full-time come August and our pockets will be a little richer for it. And if we can just hold out for another year or two, Wes will reach an age when we are comfortable sending him to pre-school: and be able to afford it, too. We’re even planning on attending an open house this weekend at a local Montessori school. I’m hoping we love it there, and can add it to our list of possibilities for Wesley’s future education.

In the meantime, Wes and I will be trying to settle into a routine. I’m happy to report that our first morning went beautifully (the headache with which I woke up was kind enough to disappear quickly). We frolicked on the floor, folded some laundry, enjoyed breakfast together. We even managed to put together a lovely lunch box for Craig’s first day of school:

Not as colorful and bright as I would have liked, but not bad for a first try. I’m not yet in the know as to what grade Craig is teaching, but if the kids catch a glance at his lunch, I hope they’ll get a kick out of his dino PB&J sammies. I wanted to send some fruit too, but all we had on hand were cherries, for which Craig does not really care. Wesley and I will be making a Whole Foods fruit run this week for sure!

Much love to all of you this first working week of the new year. May it be kind to all of us.

One thought on “First Day

Leave a Reply

