Back to Work

I know my last post was so depressing, but things are starting to normalize around here somewhat. No, Wesley hasn’t stopped crying hysterically when I drop him off at school in the mornings, pressing his sobbing face against the glass door desperate not to see me walk away, or like today, clinging on to me in whatever human way possible, like by wrapping his two little feet with talon strength around my legs — but he also no longer looks bereft when I come back in the afternoons.

And there’s been some happy times, too, like my younger sister’s wedding last month. We got to add a new brother to the brood, and my, did she make a beautiful bride!

And the littlest ring bearer didn’t look too shabby either:

I didn’t think it was possible, but he surprised us all by actually making it all the way down the aisle holding hands with his ten-year old cousin. Apparently Craig aided this feat by stuffing him full of graham crackers up to the last possible second. I’d have more pictures of the dapper boy to show you, except it’s actually quite hard to get anything in focus while wearing a strapless dress you have to constantly pull up or vigilantly chasing after a 16 month old toddler to prevent him from tipping over the wedding cake table.

And the other new wonderful development is that Craig was offered his fist teaching job working with 5th grade gifted students in the charter system that once employed me nine years ago. To say that we were relieved would be the understatement of the year – almost 600 teachers were laid off in our county last school year, and things were looking bleak there for a while. It’s a bit surreal to think that this is the first time in about four years that we are both working regular hours full-time jobs or that we’re a two solid incomes family again. Please let that mean we can finally become home owners next year.

I guess that means I can cross off #8 on the 35 before 35 list, but just barely, as I only had enough time to set out some textbooks, set up one bulletin board and help start a second one. And, of course, I’m back to work myself, back to the world of grammar, essays, and more essays. The normal stuff for me. But I’ll take normal for now. Normal is nice.

4 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Congratulations to Craig for his new job and great opportunity, as well to Lourdes for the good job she is doing in this Blog. Hope all their dreams comes true for them and Wesley, so cute like showing in the picture.

    The Best for the new couple and all my love for everyone.

  2. Wes looks SOOOO handsome in that little tux! Sorry he’s still struggling with the morning separation thing. I feel your pain 100%; it’s still the same on our end.

    Hope Craig is enjoying his first week with the students, and hope to see you all three of you guys soon (as soon as we all come up for air!)…

Leave a Reply

